Contact : +27 (0) 10 600 0400 | Monday - Sunday : 8:00 - 20:00 | Purchase 24 hours a day

Kokstad Local Municipality


The Greater Kokstad Local Municipality is a Category B municipality situated within the Harry Gwala District of KwaZulu-Natal. It is bordered by the Matatiele Local Municipality and Lesotho to the west, Dr Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma Local Municipality to the north, Umuziwabantu Local Municipality to the south-east and Eastern Cape to the east.  Kokstad serves as the service centre and commercial hub for most of East Griqualand and nearby parts of the Eastern Cape, with which it shares borders. Kokstad is derived from Dutch, and it means ‘town of Kok'. It was named after Adam Kok III.

Preferred Online Vending Company:

Contact Municipality

Kokstad Local Municipality Call Centre:

(039) 797 6600


(039) 727 3676